About Passivhaus Trust


Passivhaus Trust Structure

The Passivhaus Trust is a subsidiary of the AECB, established as an independent, not-for-profit organisation. It has an inclusive governance structure that includes all relevant parts of the Passivhaus process and supply chain as well as independent experts, academics, buildings related charities and not-for-profit organisations.

Passivhaus Trust Structure

The Board And Advisory Council

The Board is made up of two members of the AECB, a Certifier and representatives from Partners, the Technical Panel and the Membership Group, along with other invited individuals covering the full range of organisations involved in the design, delivery and certification of Passivhaus Buildings. The Chair is Chris Herring of the Green Building Store and other Directors include Peter Wilkinson of Ecodesign, Nick Grant of Elemental Solutions, Neil Cutland of Inbuilt and Neil May of Natural Building Technologies.

The function of the Advisory Council is to oversee and protect the integrity of the Passivhaus Trust, particularly in relation to upholding the Passivhaus Standard, Methodology and Principles. Members of the Council are recognised as the some of the most experienced and respected low energy / low carbon building experts. Membership of the Council is by invitation from the Trust Board. Current members of the Advisory Council include: John Willoughby, Peter Warm, David Strong and David Olivier.

Panels And Groups

The Board will be assisted in the delivery of its activities by a number of panels and groups that will advise on technical aspects, certification and the needs of Passivhaus practitioners. Members of these groups will be nominated by Trust Members or invited by the Trust Board, according to skills and expertise required at any particular time.